WFMW ~ Christmas Planner/Notebook

xtree.gif

This post is several years old, all current modifications are in red.

This is my second fourth year to use my Christmas Notebook. Last year in 2006, I was very pregnant with my 5th son and was barely moving, but it certainly kept the holidays in order for me.  Actually, this year 2009, I am extremely pregnant with baby#6, and once again, I can barely move.

First, I have a green binder ~ you can decorate it with stickers if you must. (: Second, I have 8 divider tabs labeled as followed..

Calendar ~ a blank calendar of December and you might want to put in November, too

Budget/Sales Tracker ~ I put the holiday Budget sheet and also a clear pencil zip lock bag for all my receipts that pertain to Christmas. So convenient for returns.

Gift List ~ I have a main gift list, and one gift list for each child. Also, I include the stocker stuffer page, too.

Crafts ~ l write down all our craft gifts that we make and arts n crafts that we do during the season. I saved them from last year, too. Also, I put any print offs that I get off the internet.  This includes any homemade gifts that I make each year, too.  For example, I made clip boards one year.  This helps keep track of who you gave that particular gift to. Last year, I made crochet toppers for Christmas towels, crochet dish cloths, and crochet scarves.  I would have never remembered who I gave what to if I didn’t have my nifty little form.

Card List ~ this might sound rude, but I have a list of people we send cards to and check off each year if they send us one. Hey, if you don’t send us a card two years in a row your off our card list. Just Kidding!!! Not Really! Print here

Traditions ~ this is a fun sheet to keep each year. Last year, I noticed that the boys loved the spoons my SIL made dipped in chocolate with marshmallows for Hot Cocoa.  Last year, the boys loved opening a wrapped Christmas book and we read it each night. Read more here.

decoration/wrap Inventory ~ this was so helpful to me this year. I was able to see what we need this year without going through all of our stuff. I wrote it down last year! SO SO AWESOME!  Print here. This years list tells me to make 2 sets of Christmas napkins and to purchase a star for the boys bedroom Christmas tree.  Done!  And no I don’t have my Christmas decor down from the attic, yet.

Recipes/Menus ~ This is where I keep all of our favorite recipes that we have had during the season when we had company. Also, I like to scan through recipes and get ideas. I put them all in this place, so when it’s time to plan our actual Menu for the holiday I have tons of ideas. Print here

Advent ~ our family advent ideas/thoughts. Last year, we did a Jesse Tree/study.  Read more on what we did to celebrate advent last year here.

I keep my notebook in my nightstand all year long so I can write down all the gifts that I purchase during the year. One of the biggest benefits of maintaining a notebook last year was to keep track of all the gifts that I purchased. When you have 5 kiddos ~ it’s so hard to remember who got what.  It’s  especially helpful to write down where you put them, too.
So get busy and start printing these sheets to a organized Christmas 2009.

18 responses to “WFMW ~ Christmas Planner/Notebook

  1. This is a great idea! I really need to do this to keep myself on track this year 🙂

  2. I’m trying to get more organized this Christmas…I’ve been using a section of my regular planner for Christmas planning, but I like the idea of a separate binder to use from year to year. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Love, love, LOVE This IDEA!!
    I will most definitely be joining you in doing it.
    Thank you for sharing it with us!
    Leeann
    niccofive.blogspot.com

  4. I love the just4ladies pages – I haven’t seen those. I’m working on my notebook this week too!

  5. I’m the same way about sending cards, unless there’s specific reason they cannot send one back.

  6. What a great idea. you are incredibly organised!

  7. I have one of these and I was just about to post about it! I’ve been using it for about 5 years now and it is the best thing I ever did to organize Christmas! Here’s my post about it from last year http://christinacostain.blogspot.com/2006/12/my-holiday-planner-aka-have-yourself.html

    Have an organized and Happy Christmas!

  8. What’s the just4ladies pages?

    Love this idea!

  9. Pingback: www.christmasforallofus.info » WFMW ~ Christmas Planner/Notebook

  10. Jill, this is such a WONDERFUL idea! I LOVE binders, notebooks anything to keep me organized but I never thought of doing Christmas this way! Finally, I can get rid of all that paper clutter that I carry around with me and half the time I can’t find my receipts and lists! GREAT idea!

    Blessings, Julie

  11. I linked back to this on my blog, hope that’s okay?!:o) It’s such a great idea; I just had to share it!

    Julie

  12. Love the idea 🙂

    What a beautiful family you have. I’m new to your blog.

    Jillian

  13. Jill, that is awesome!! Thanks for sharing all of your thoughts, ideas and resources. I don’t think that I will have time to make a good one this year but defintely next year.

    Kelli

  14. Great idea! I don’t have anything so elaborate, but I do have a system. Yours sounds a bit more efficient!
    TM

  15. Pingback: Monday Meandering ~ Nov 12th « Training Tons of Sons

  16. Pingback: WFMW ~ Hiding Christmas gifts « Training Tons of Sons

  17. Hi– I found this when I was searching for the words “Christmas Notebook” on google. I figured I couldn’t be the only person who had thought of this idea– and it turns out of course I am not! Glad to find you in the blogging world… I will be back!

  18. This is a terrific organization tip.

Leave a comment