Funny, how God works sometimes….

I have been pondering the thoughts of dressing modestly for months years now.  Maybe I should say “feminine”  instead.  I absolutely hate to wear tight shirts and jeans.  UGH……  They are so uncomfortable to me and I feel like a fat cow.  Also, I am self conscious of my weight.  To be blunt….  I am fat, not huge, but fat.  Please don’t think that I am being insecure, but just honest.  I am probably not at an unhealthy weight since none of my doctors have told me otherwise, but losing a few pounds wouldn’t hurt me.  I prefer to wear capris, pants, or sweats/shorts(around the house) each day.  Definitely, not a skirt.  However, I do love to wear aprons.

Enough about my weight, blah, blah, blah….., and on to the conviction God has put in my heart.  I really truly have been struggling with wearing skirts .  My dh likes me to wear long skirts.  He doesn’t require me, but just thinks I look nice in them.  So, about a year ago, I made a promise, but failed to maintain it, to wear a skirt once a week.  One of the biggest struggles I have with wearing skirts is…… What shoes to wear in the Winter? Spring and Summer are easy ~ just put on a pair of cute flip flops or sandals and off you go.  I refuse to wear tennis shoes with my skirts.  I just think they look dorky!  Please don’t take offense if you have the confidence to wear them in public with a cute skirt ~ More power to ya ~ I admire you.  So, if you have the answer to this question ~ Please let me know what shoes are appropriate and comfortable to wear with a casual skirt in the colder weather.

It was ironic and completely a God thing to me when I stumbled across this site.  This past Sunday I challenged myself to wear a skirt for 7 days straight.  I managed 3 days and gave up.  I had the attitude…  Oh, Jill….  God doesn’t really care…  But obviously He does or I wouldn’t have stumble across this challenge this morning.  So, funny, huh?  So, today is the first day of my 7 day skirt challenge…  I will be posting my thoughts during the next 7 days and maybe some photos in my feminine modest apparel.

I would be tickled if you participated in this challenge with me and let me know your thoughts.  I need your encouragement on this subject.

Also, Let me know your personal thoughts on this subject…  Do you think I’m crazy or what?  Be honest!

6 responses to “Funny, how God works sometimes….

  1. Lisa in ME (SHS)

    I simply can’t belive this is a coincidence. I have had the SAME struggle for well on five to six years now. ::sigh:: I’m joining you! I’ll start tomorrow. I actually managed a week once I think, but it always seems to hit me in the winter & quite frankly, it’s COLD here! 😉 As for footwear, have you looked at crocs? They make lined winter crocs. I love mine & wear them a lot.

  2. Oh what a blessings to find this as well! I am so glad that you are taking the challenge and seeing where the Lord leads you in this! 🙂

    As for shoes, I thought the same thing when I first started wearing skirts. It was one of my biggest problems of switching from pants to skirts because I hate wearing anything but tennis shoes. There are a few skirts I will not wear with tennis shoes, but that’s my usually. Here is a photo if you like to see: http://i61.photobucket.com/albums/h56/Jocelyndixon/Jocelyn005.jpg And I just wrote up a post on shoes/skirts for the FF site, which I shall be posting soon! – in fact shoes/skirts has been a topic of discussion as of late!

    Thank you for signing petition. 🙂 I have been meaning to host (officially anyways) this next week, so I hope you would leave your post links when I do!

  3. And, no I don’t think you’re crazy. 🙂

  4. No, you’re not crazy. 🙂 I just wrote another article of my own the other day about my struggles with switching from pants to skirts. Yes, shoes seem to be a problem for me as well. I can’t see myself wearing tennis shoes with my skirts. They just don’t look right on me.

  5. Winter is not my favorite season by far, but I love to wear my leggings & boots! I wear flat sole boots with skirts just below the knee and boots with a heel with long skirts. When I don’t feel like either…I wear knee socks, usually stripped, and a pair of slip on shoes simuliar to loafers. I am picky about tennis shoes & skirts too. However it is possible to pull this off! I’m so happy to have found this website!! I really need a new do…love your hair styles!! This is awesome!

  6. Pingback: I did it! « Blessed Beyond a Doubt

Leave a comment