MMWT ~ Agendas

Homeschool agendas, huh?  You mean we are suppose to have an agenda planned out?  LOL!

This year we have added a new student to our school year.  I have volunteered to teach dear friends of ours, 8th grade daughter, her bloggy name will be Tomboy.  She fits in just beautifully in with our family, schedule and helps me out with the little ones.  It has been a true blessing for everyone.

This is our 5th week of school.  Yippee!  I love to get ahead so during the Fall/Christmas season we can truly enjoy the joyous season.  My plan is to take off from the week of Thanksgiving until after the New Year.  Of course, we will do holiday stuff and continue with our daily bible.  This is the season for the boys to play outside.   The weather is perfect for exploring and indulging in God’s creations.

We have adapted the principle approach into several of our subjects this year.  This is an on-going learning experience.  Slowly, we will eventually implement the principle approach to all subjects.  We are very much a Charlotte Mason type home school family, too.  We use a lot of her methods.  No textbooks just real living books.  Also, we use the notebook/lapbook method instead of workbooks.

I put together most all of our curriculum.  It works much better for us.  Since I tend to be a perfectionist, I get myself in a tiffie if we get behind or don’t complete something that is suggested.  Putting together my own lessons plans is more time consuming, but it’s all so worth it to me.  I use many different resources.  You can check them out here.

Also, we do topical studies instead of trying to fit in health, science, history, and geography each week.  This has been a blessing to our homeschool.  We can dig deeper if the childrens interest peeks or we can study the minimal.  We implement all the studies into one topic.  We are currently studying the American Revolution.

I don’t tend to categorize my children into grades, but if you must Tomboy and the boys are in 8th, 6th, 5th, 2nd, and Pre-K.  Punkie is only 19 months.

So, I guess that is my agenda. Check out other homeschool mommies agendas here.

14 responses to “MMWT ~ Agendas

  1. What a blessing you are to that other mom. I’m sure Tomboy will have a wonderful year with you. YOu sound like you’ve got a great year planned.

  2. Sounds great! I look forward to the day when I can relax a little and feel like we can be a little less ‘on schedule’. You know, dive deeper or swim away if we want to? I look forward to getting to know you as well and thanks for the comment!

  3. Hope you have a great school year! 🙂

  4. That’s wonderful that you are teaching your friends daughter. Your plans sound great.

  5. Ive often taken other kids into my homeschool. I love doing that. I hope you will have a joyous year.

  6. I must admit that I admire those who can put together their own programs and teach using living books. I’ve never felt comfortable doing that but have the greatest admiration for all who do so. You leave a lasting legacy for others to follow.

  7. How cool of you to help out that other mom :). You sound like me. When I saw Agenda for the topic I though agenda? Did I miss something I am supposed to be doing? LOL. Like I said in my post (thanks for visiting it 🙂 ) we have a curriculum but it’s never set in stone and we just go with the flow most of the time. History, Geography we use lots of books to read from :). I don’t like text book much either :).

  8. Six boys? Cool! I had six big brothers. (no sisters) Maybe your next one will be a girl? 😉

  9. Thanks for sharing!! Where do you live that your kids play outside at Christmas? Here in IN, it is freezing then!! Good to ‘meet’ you!

    HappyGoMommy!
    http://www.happygomommy.typepad.com

  10. I am so glad you came by and I look forward to hearing all about your school year and more. I will have to go see what you are learning by clicking your link ! [0=

    Looking forward to more posts !
    Blessings and ((hugs)) in Him<
    -Mary

  11. I enjoyed reading your post. We started early, too (this is our 4th week.) It’s great to be able to take lots of days off for the holidays or whenver a hurricane is a’comin. (Hope I didn’t just jinx us…go away Gustav!)

  12. Lisa in ME (SHS)

    I’m getting more eclectic the longer I’m at this whole homeschooling thing. We’re really liking lapbooks/notebooks lately & I try to use as much Charlotte Mason as I can but we still use many “textbooks” as well although they are nothing like I remember from school! They are so much more engaging and inviting – at least I think so & my boys haven’t rebelled yet! LOL

  13. I admire you for teaching your friends daughter! Many blessings this year!

  14. Love topical learning. We do that alot with science and history even if we have a book to use…we rarely stay within the guidelines of the book! We use CM for nature studies and art. I have seen my children really learn to love and appreciate art and nature through these methods. Have an awesome year!

Leave a Reply

