Time Travel Tuesday

timetravel-tuesday.png

 

This week Annie wants us to share our first home….

She asks……

This week we will travel back to our first home… was it your very own apartment, or a home with your new spouse? What memories do you have from that first home? How did you make that first house (or apartment) a home?

 

I am going to share our first home that my dh and I purchased together. First of all, we had a brand new house built. It was made perfect to suit us. I was able to pick the brick, carpet, tile, cabinets, and have as many upgrades that our money could afford. I just loved it. I was even getting a jacuzzi tub in my master bath. As our house was progressing, my dh was noticing how the neighbors were keeping up their lawns and landscaping, etc. He was dissatisfied! Of course, I was on cloud 9 and could care less about anything except how I was going to make this perfect house our cute little home to our 6 month old and my dh. Finally, after many tears, we broke our contract and decided against the “perfect” house that I watched from square one being built to suit my fancy. So from looking at brand new homes to looking at preowned homes was a shocker! The first house that we looked at was in a really nice neighborhood but the house needed lots and lots of work. The neighborhood was out of our budget. This house was UGLY inside!! I kid you not, the crown molding in the master bedroom was painted periwinkle blue, as well as, the baseboards. The bathrooms had mildew carpet in them. The bathrooms had the ugliest primary wallpaper that looked like contact paper in both of them. The fence was painted at one time red and was leaning on one side. The garage door was split in two. And the landscaping was higher than the house. Now, the house itself was really nice but the people before us had horrible taste in decorating and didn’t have a handy man . It needed a lot of work to say the least. So, of course, I said “No WAY!” We continued to house hunt for at least 3 more months. We put wrote out several contracts but we were too late. The house market was surely a seller market at that time. I remember houses would get a contract the same day they were listed. Anyways, to make a long story short. We made an offer on that first ugly house and they accepted it. They even gave us spending money to fix it up. I had strict stipulations on what projects needed to be completed before we moved in. My dh is so gifted and handy and completed them all. He replaced the wallpaper and painted every room, replaced the flooring with tile in all the bathrooms and the kitchen, and much, much more. It ended up being such a wonderful house, and I hated to sell. We outgrew our 3 bedroom home. However, we ended up making 50% on what we paid for it 8 years later. So, the house was a true blessing. Thank you, honey, for seeing beyond the other side. I sure didn’t at the time.

6 responses to “Time Travel Tuesday

  1. I was thinking, oh no don’t buy it and then read that you did, but isn’t it great that it turned out so well?

  2. What a GREAT story! It sounded so familiar to me…growing up, my dad was always a fixer-upper kind of man, and my hubby and I have done a lot of that too! πŸ˜€

    I absolutely adore your blog header! πŸ˜€

  3. wow what a rollar coaster that was, but I am so glad it all worked out!
    Thanks for sharing.

  4. You have an award over at my blog, come and pick it up!!!

    Blessings,

    Julie

  5. My Dad and Grandpa has the gift for being handymen around the house, my poor DH he tries but he lacks that talent. Thankfully my dad only lives 30 minutes away LOL.
    Our 1st house was an apartment that my grandpa owned, I was with dad and grandpa when they bought this house and thought why on earth are you buying this dump. LOL This was about 4 or 5 years before I got married. After we got married I moved into the upstairs apartment of this home and Dad and Grandpa had fixed it up so nice by then that I sat back and LOL thinking and I thought they were crazy..
    So when we looked to buy a house and found a house for a wonderful price(our mortgage would be less then what we were paying grandpa for rent) I kept in the back of my mind what a dump that old apartment use to be. I had to close my eyes and try really hard to see what the house could be, because the house we bought we couldn’t even live in at 1st. It took us two months of spending all our free time(dad and grandpa, mom and DH and myself) fixing it up so we could move in. But it turned out really nice.
    Thanks for sharing your 1st home story with us. Great TTT

  6. I’m so amazed at how many people could afford to buy their first homes…it took us 16 years before we could buy our first! And wow, what a lot of work you had to do to that first one! Sounds like it was an awesome investment though, by the time it was all said and done!

Leave a Reply

