Time Travel Tuesday ~ cooking

timetravel-tuesday.png

This week at Annie’s Time Travel Tuesday, we were asked to recapture one of our first cooking experience. Only one came to mind when I was in High School. My mom was working full-time and informed us that my sister and I were both responsible for making and preparing a meal once a week. So, trusting mom that she was, she left me a blank check to go to the grocery store. I decided that I was in the mood for steak, baked potatoes, and salad. I had no idea what the going rate for steak was but only knew that my parents always got filet migon when we went out to eat. I also decided to invite my friend over, too. I can’t remember how much each of those steaks were but needless to say, my mom never asked me to cook dinner or go to the grocery store with a blank check again. It wasn’t until very much later that I learned why I wasn’t requested to make dinner again. My mom didn’t want to hurt my feelings. But the dinner was divine. LOL!

12 responses to “Time Travel Tuesday ~ cooking

  1. I can see my daughter doing this too (I just told KC the same thing but it’s true)… The good thing is that the meal turned out well, it’s not like you ruined the steak, right? (I always try to look for the good in any given situation).
    Your mom sounds like a sweetheart!
    ♥♥♥♥
    annie
    My Life as Annie!

  2. amyswandering

    That is hilarious!!

  3. I can totally see that happening with one of my kids! And I am impressed that your first attempt at steak went so well! I think mine was way too hard to chew.

  4. I bet it was good! LOL

  5. LOL but the meal does sound divin. πŸ™‚
    This story reminds me of how I never got asked to cut grass more then once πŸ˜‰

  6. That is sooo funny!! My kids cook a meal once a week, but I’d never thought of giving them a blank check to the grocery store. Now I know why!! I’m still shaking my head and laughing at this!! πŸ™‚

  7. This story reminds me of a meal I DIDN’T make. I don’t remember the cut of meat, but when I went to the store and saw the price (I’m sure it was over $50) I quickly decided against it!

  8. takingthechallenge

    Your mom sounds like a real sweetheart…and patient!! πŸ™‚
    What’s amazing is that you didn’t ruin your steaks since it was a first attempt!

  9. OH MY!! That was funny! You have a nice mom.

  10. Too cute! THanks for sharing!

  11. guess your mom worked for free that week!

  12. That was hillarious! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

